Why do we need to be beautiful?

Being here and reading this means you don’t see yourself beautifu  or you think being pretty and beautiful is something hard or needs effort and money. But I’ll tell you what I’ve been through, and my opinion of why do we need to be beautiful?

I’ve been struggling for years because I always wanted to look like models. I wanted blonde hair and blue eyes, long legs, and soft skin. I might have achieved some of this by reading and trying different things. But even after I did what I want, after I became skinny with a thigh gap, I wasn’t satisfied.

I looked at models and actress’ bodies and hair. I haven’t realized that I’m beautiful too. When I was a kid I was always asking my parents “dad, mum, do you think this actress is prettier than the other one?” and they would always tell me the same answer. Both of them has her own beauty. I didn’t get it back then. I was thinking “what? it’s obvious that the blonde one is prettier, what does it mean ? No, I want to know who’s prettier.”

Let me tell why do we need to be beautiful, because we are.We just need to stop comparing our bodies and hair type to others. Having a Black hair, red hair, or blonde hair. Being skinny or curvy. Being white or dark skinned. Wearing jeans and  converses or dresses and high heels. It’s okay being beautiful has nothing to do with this.

“There is nothing more rare, nor more beautiful, than a woman being unapologetically herself; comfortable in her perfect imperfection. To me, that is the true essence of beauty.”
Steve Maraboli, Unapologetically You: Reflections on Life and the Human Experience

Why do we need to be beautiful?
A photo of a wedding.

Look at all these women. I love this photo actually. It’s amazing.

They don’t have the perfect body, but they still look amazing and beautiful. Do you know why? Because they are feeling how beautiful they are and confident in their own body. Imagine with me the same girls in the picture but covering their bodies with their hands. Not smiling nor confident, but ashamed of their  body or hair. Do you see them?

Beauty comes in all shapes you don’t have to be blond or brunette to be pretty. You don’t have to lose weight to look younger and prettier. You already are.

 

 

 

 

 

Save

Save

2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

