You should read this book if you’re interested in Mental Health and Anorexia (reckoning daze by Michael Beaulieu)

Reckoning daze by Michael Beaulieu

Reckoning Daze by Michael BeaulieuAn actress is always a starving artist,” so says Lindsay Harmon-Foster, a talented but struggling Los Angeles actress in Michael Beaulieu’s gripping debut novel Reckoning Daze.

Lindsay, 19, a former star of a critically acclaimed but canceled series, is now doing a pilot that might prove to be the role of a lifetime, but her anorexia and other habits could kill her before she’s cast for the full series. Although she has long been self-destructive, she’s never been more so than now, making her a threat to herself and others. Aside from losing the show she loved, she thought she had found her soulmate in a rising music star named Jesse, but he committed suicide and she blames herself. Will she land the new series and allow herself to find love again with an actor named Marc or will addictions – and suppressed family secrets – make her die hard?

While Lindsay’s demons are portrayed with unflinching honesty, the way she views Los Angeles and the business is often comical. If you like Bret Easton Ellis and Chuck Palahniuk, you’ll find Reckoning Daze’s blend of high drama and satire to be a perfect mix of laughs and suspense. Get it today and find out whether or not Lindsay’s dreams come true.“An actress is always a starving artist,” so says Lindsay Harmon-Foster, a talented but struggling Los Angeles actress in Michael Beaulieu’s gripping debut novel Reckoning Daze.

Genre: Fiction, Mental health

Number of pages: 108 pages paperback

publication: Published February 15th 2017

 Rate

Get it from Book depository for $13.27 with free delivery worldwide.

OR go down to read it for free

Have you ever thought about what people with a mental disease actually thinking about? Sometimes we wish we could read their minds. Everyone has an issue and sometimes it fu*cks up our mind and body. We spend our lives aimless searching for a purpose that could make us feel alive and if we couldn’t help ourselves or a friend didn’t help us we end up doing things we would regret in every second.

This’s what happened to Lindsay an actress struggling with Anorexia, drug abuse, and self-harm.

I had a hard time thinking about what to say. Do I give it 3 stars because it made me think of awful thoughts and remind me of my struggles?? But the book is also great and full of surprises. I’m the kind of readers who get attached very easily to the character. I start thinking like her and acting like her and it becomes a disaster!! But this means the author is a genius.

So, I’m going to tell you what I liked first.

  • You’re going to be surprised.
  • You should read it if you want to understand what people with a mental disease actually going through.
  • It was written well.
  • I wish it would be a movie. A movie about young actresses and what they might actually be going through. It would be amazing.. Right?!

what I hated

  • I didn’t laugh even once! I just cried. There is death, suicide, drugs, self-harm. How am I going to laugh!!
  • I don’t see the book is actually helping people struggling with Anorexia. In my opinion, it only makes things worst.
  • The book is not educational. To some people that’s good. You go inside her head what happened to her to end up like this! Her memories of her mother, how family abuse could destroy children, even after they grow up and start their own lives.

My experience.

I’m going through a hard time now the death of my father, break up. So I’m going through a lot. If I was dealing with this when I was younger I would’ve starved myself for 4 days. So, of course, the book was not good for me, especially it doesn’t motivate anyone to change. It only reminded me of all the memories. It made me think I want to starve myself again. So don’t read it if you’re going through a hard time.

Get to know the author

An entertainment journalist for 20 years, Michael McCarthy was a columnist and contributing editor for the magazines Lollipop and LiveWire. He co-created and wrote for Cinezine, one of the ’90’s most popular movie E-zines. The only time he’s not listening to music is when he’s watching television shows and movies or reading, usually music magazines.

TwitterBlog

The writer is offering his two books for free now

Reckonong daze

Book of shadows

Thourya blog

 

 

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

